You are here

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)

Established by the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (UN) in 1958 as one of the UN's five regional commissions, ECA's mandate is to promote the economic and social development of its member states, foster intra-regional integration, and promote international cooperation for Africa's development.

Made up of 54 member states, and playing a dual role as a regional arm of the UN and as a key component of the African institutional landscape, ECA is well positioned to make unique contributions to address the continent’s development challenges.


Associated sessions

11 May
09:00 - 10:30

Benefits of hydropower

Type: Focus session

Single and multipurpose hydropower facilities can make substantial contributions at local, regional and national levels.

(Read more)