You are here

The Infrastructure Consortium for Africa

The Infrastructure Consortium for Africa (ICA) was launched at the G8 Gleneagles summit in 2005. The membership includes G8 countries, Republic of South Africa, World Bank Group, African Development Bank (AfDB) Group, European Commission (EC), European Investment Bank (EIB) and the Development Bank of South Africa (DBSA). African institutions such as the African Union, the NEPAD and the RECs all participate as observers in the meetings of the consortium. The AfDB hosts the ICA Secretariat.

ICA focuses on following areas across four sectors of Energy, Transport, ICT and Water:
a) Enhanced coordination;
b) Enhanced Support for Regional Infrastructure Programmes;
c) Increased knowledge and information;
d) Fostered Engagement with G20 and Private Sector.

Key achievements of ICA includes enhanced coordination with African stakeholders, production and publication of a number of well referenced knowledge products (AICD study etc.), setting up a Project reparation Facilities Network.