You are here

IHA Blue Planet Prize

The IHA Blue Planet Prize is awarded to hydropower projects that demonstrate excellence in sustainable development.

The 2017 prize was awarded to the Blanda project in Iceland, developed and operated by Landsvirkjun. 

The winner of the 2019 prize will be announced at the World Hydropower Congress in May 2019 in Paris, France. 

The prize is awarded on the basis of an assessment using the Hydropower Sustainability Assessment Protocol, a tool that measures the sustainability of a hydropower project across a range of social, environmental, technical and economic aspects.

Information for applicants

For a hydropower project to be considered for the IHA Blue Planet Prize, it needs to have undergone an official assessment under the Hydropower Sustainability Assessment Protocol.

The protocol was developed through cross-sector consensus and is governed by a forum that includes governments, environmental and social NGOs, commercial and development banks, and industry. Find out more at

Information on how to apply for the 2019 IHA Blue Planet Prize will be announced by late 2017.

Applications will be judged by a panel of experts selected by the IHA Board. Shortlisted projects not selected for the prize will be recognised as ‘highly commended’.

Blanda project

To find out more about the Blanda project, view IHA's short winner's documentary: 

Blanda hydropower project: IHA Blue Planet Prize winner 2017



The IHA Blue Planet Prize was awarded to six projects between 2001 and 2005 in recognition of good sustainability practice:

  • Andhikhola hydel and rural electrification scheme, Nepal (2005)
  • Arrow Lakes power plant, Canada (2005)
  • Sechelt Creek power plant, Canada (2005)
  • Salto Caxias project, Brazil (2003)
  • Palmiet pumped storage scheme, South Africa (2003)
  • King River hydropower development, Tasmania, Australia (2001)