IHA Blue Planet Prize

The IHA Blue Planet Prize is awarded to hydropower projects that demonstrate excellence in sustainable development.

The prize is awarded on the basis of an assessment using the Hydropower Sustainability Assessment Protocol, a tool that measures the sustainability of a hydropower project across a range of social, environmental, technical and economic aspects.

The prize was last awarded at the World Hydropower Congress in May 2019 in Paris, France.

Information for applicants

For a hydropower project to be considered for the IHA Blue Planet Prize, it must have undergone an official assessment under the Hydropower Sustainability Assessment Protocol.

The protocol was developed through cross-sector consensus and is governed by a forum that includes governments, environmental and social NGOs, commercial and development banks, and industry. Find out more at

Applications are judged by a panel of experts selected by the IHA Board. Shortlisted projects not selected for the prize are recognised as ‘highly commended’.

2019 prize winner

The 2019 IHA Blue Planet Prize was awarded to the Reventazón Hydropower Plant in Costa Rica, built and operated by the Instituto Costarricense de Electricidad (ICE).

Reventazón is the largest hydropower project in Central America with 305.5 megawatts of installed capacity. Read more.

Previous recipients

The IHA Blue Planet Prize was awarded to eight projects between 2001 and 2019 in recognition of good sustainability practice:

  • Reventazón hydropower plant, Costa Rica (2019)
  • Blanda hydropower project, Iceland (2017)
  • Andhikhola hydel and rural electrification scheme, Nepal (2005)
  • Arrow Lakes power plant, Canada (2005)
  • Sechelt Creek power plant, Canada (2005)
  • Salto Caxias project, Brazil (2003)
  • Palmiet pumped storage scheme, South Africa (2003)
  • King River hydropower development, Tasmania, Australia (2001)

Privacy Policy