You are here

Mosonyi Award for Excellence in Hydropower

The Mosonyi Award for Excellence in Hydropower recognises individuals within IHA's membership for outstanding contributions to the sector.

The award recognises individual contributions related to:

  • a long-standing commitment or initiative that has had a major impact on the profession;
  • a specific hydropower project, the performance of an organisation or the hydropower sector in general; or
  • an aspect of hydropower sustainability (technical, economic, social or environmental) or a broad-ranging initiative, such as national-level or basin-level strategic planning.

Recipients of the Mosonyi Award are made honorary IHA members, and invited to attend our biennial World Hydropower Congress (registration fees waived), where the award is presented.

News and announcements

Press Release 2019: Reward excellence in hydropower by casting a 2019 Mosonyi award nomination 

Why the name Mosonyi?

The award is named after Emil Mosonyi, the founding president of IHA. Prof Mosonyi, who passed away in 2009 aged 98, made major contributions during his long career in hydropower. His determination to champion excellence in hydropower lives on through IHA’s vision and mission.

Past award winners

The 2017 Mosonyi award was presented to Anton-Louis Olivier of Renewable Energy Holdings, Kuang Shangfu of the China Institute of Water Resource and Hydropower Research (IWHR), and Eduard Wojcynski of Manitoba Hydro. Read more about the winners here

The selection process

Proposed candidates are reviewed by a panel convened by the IHA Board. The panel nominates selected candidates, with the IHA Board making the final decision on the selection of recipients. Up to three individuals receive an award during each two-year IHA work programme cycle.

How to propose a candidate

The deadline for nominations is 10 March 2019. 

About the candidate

max 200 words
max 200 words
max 200 words
max 200 words
max 200 words
max 200 words
max 200 words

Proposer details

(note, this can be the same company / organisation as the candidate)