IHA announces results of its 2023 board elections

The members of the International Hydropower Association (IHA) have elected the 18 leaders for the 2023-25 term of its Board. The new Board will shape and direct IHA’s work over the next two years under the mission to advance sustainable hydropower globally.

The new Board will begin its mandate at the 2023 World Hydropower Congress in Bali, Indonesia. Candidates competed in six geographical regions, electing a diverse range of hydropower experts with a wealth of experience.

IHA Chief Executive Officer Eddie Rich said: “I would like to congratulate all our Board members, especially those elected for the first time. The time is now to establish sustainable hydropower’s critical role in the transition to a renewable energy future.

While progress is generally falling short of what is needed to achieve net zero in a timely way, a global hydropower renaissance is under way. Seizing on this growing momentum, our new Board will shape and supercharge hydropower’s role in the fight against climate change.”

At its first meeting on 30 October, the Board will appoint a Chair and up to six Vice Chairs. Recently announced President Designate, Malcolm Turnbull will also begin his appointment at the World Hydropower Congress.

The members elected to IHA’s board are:


Anton-Louis Olivier, CEO- designate, Serengeti Energy

Lamu Audu, CEO, Mainstream Energy

North and Central America:

Herbie Johnson, Managing Director, Southern Company

Lynn St-Laurent, Strategic Communications Advisor, Hydro-Québec

South America:

Gabriel dos Santos Cruz Rocha, Global Hydro Technology Lead, Worley

Gil Maranhão Neto, Chief Communications and Sustainability Officer, ENGIE

South and Central Asia:

Sushil Pokharel, CEO, Bizbell Private Limited

East Asia and Pacific:

Bin YU, Deputy Chief Economist, China Three Gorges Corporation (CTG)

HE Shengming, Deputy General Manager, Yalong River Hydropower Development Company, Ltd.

Karen Atkinson, Deputy Chief Operating Officer, SMEC International Pty Ltd

Sharbini Suhaili, CEO, Sarawak Energy Berhad

Tammy Chu, Managing Director Entura, Hydro Tasmania


Emmanuelle Verger, CEO, EDF Hydro

Frédéric SAUZE, CEO, Andritz Hydro

Joana Freitas, Executive Board Member, EDP

Jon Ulrik Haaheim, Senior VP,  Statkraft

Oli Gretar Blondal Sveinsson, Executive Vice President, Landsvirkjun

Tobias Keitel, CEO, Voith Hydro

Privacy Policy