IHA announces results of its 2021 Board elections

Eighteen leaders from across the hydropower sector have been elected to IHA's Board.

The new Board will begin its two-year mandate on 21 October 2021 and will help shape and guide IHA’s work at a crucial time in the clean energy transition.

The results of the 2021 Board elections were announced on 25 August. Candidates competed in six geographical regions, electing a diverse range of hydropower experts with a wealth of experience.

IHA Chief Executive Eddie Rich said: “I would like to congratulate all of our Board members, especially those newly elected. Their experience and knowledge spanning a wide breadth of the hydropower sector will help establish sustainable hydropower as not just a powerhouse of today, but a technology of the future.

“We have a big job ahead of us. Sustainable hydropower is vital in reaching net zero commitments around the world. This new Board will help shape and drive forward the role of hydropower in the fight against climate change.”

Once the Board is constituted in October 2021, it will select the President of IHA and up to six Vice Presidents.

The members elected to IHA’s Board are:


Engr. Lamu Audu
Anton-Louis Olivier

America, South

Roger Gill
Gil Maranhão Neto

America, North and Central

Colin Clark
Herbie Johnson
Lynn St-Laurent

Asia, East and Pacific

Karen Atkinson
Tammy Chu
He Shengming
Sharbini Suhaili

Asia, South and Central

Anton Butmanov
Arun Kumar


Jon Ulrik Haaheim
Pascal Radue
Óli Grétar Blöndal Sveinsson
Uwe Wehnhardt

Privacy Policy